warnmcr: festival fail... an addendum


Festival fatigue definitely took its toll last week -  I was so bogged down in Edinburgh spreadsheets that I totally forgot to add that this weekend (Fri 26 - Sun 28 Jul) you can catch a sneak preview of some of the work headed that way,  via Theatre in the Mill, Bradford's Edinburgh Weekender which includes Katherina Radeva (Two Destination Language), Javaad Alipoor, Demi Nandhra, Duncan Speakman, Ben Mills and others.

Meanwhile, closer to home, Refract Festival is continuing at Waterside Arts, Sale (til Sat 27 Jul) including Catching Comets with Beach Body Ready tonight, Mon 22 Jul; Meraki Collective on Wed 24 Jul; Nathaniel Hall (with Fulfilment) on Thu 25 Jul and Motionhouse on Sat 27 Jul.

Below a repeat of my Edinburgh Fringe (2-26 Aug) info:

2019 is a British Council Showcase year - which is a good place to start - though much of it may have already been to parts mancunian (in which case I'm not highlighting it here).  While most things on my radar are, as ever, at Summerhall, there's more than a smattering at Zoo SouthsidePleasance, plus a lot of interesting-looking dance at DanceBase, which is where I'd be heading if I had more time.

For my own whistlestop daytrip purposes, on the shortlist is: Cade + McAskillEmma FranklandOntroerend GoedScottee + FriendsCatherine HoffmanLucy McCormick, Seke Chimutengwende + Alexandrina HemsleyLouise OrwinHarry Clayton-WrightDaniel Hellman, Javaad AlipoorDressedBryony KimmingsMr + Mrs ClarkRidiculusmusConcha Vidal.

If you want to dig a bit deeper, once again I've uploaded WoW's long list (sorted by artist name) at the Weekly Warning blog. As ever, it's just my pick for my own purposes, largely from paper and I don't really focus on internationals as they're beyond our programming paygrade. For a tipster more reliable and with broader tastes, you can now find Lyn Gardner's picks via Stagedoor. Final tips - check dates carefully as you don't want to fall prey to random days off - and my main tip is to log-in to EdFringe, and use the favourites facility (you can then export them as a spreadsheet and sort it as you please - it's what keeps me sane!)

After this unplanned addendum, I really am hoping to put this on a break... see you end August!

Best
 
Tamsin

Ps. the call for artists is still open for Emergency (21 Sep). Deadline 9 Aug.


facebook/WarnMcr | @WarnMcr | Word of Warning Google calendar
Information for artists: www.habmcr.org
Been to one of our events recently? Please help us by taking a few minutes to fill out our online survey, a joint project with Live Art UK & The Audience Agency learning about national audiences for live art.

Spread the word that #CultureMatters